Study Tips for Finals

untitled (55)

It’s been a while y’all! Finals are finally over and school is out, so I’ll have more time to invest in my blog! For the past few weeks, I was studying for what seemed like forever to take a total of seven tests over the course of four days. During that time, I came up with some tips and tricks for studying that really helped me and will hopefully help those of you who are still studying for your finals.

TIP #1: Make sure you know what is on your test. If your teachers give you an outline with everything on your exam, you should use it to your advantage and go through your notes labeling them by unit. This way, you’ll be able to go back to the sections you need some more review in to study.

TIP #2: Make a Quizlet. Quizlet is a website that allows you to study flashcards that you make for whatever test you have. Something that I like to do is make flashcards throughout the year, then when I go to study for finals, I’ll make a folder for each class and all the flashcards I have accumulated from the year into the folder. What’s even better is if you create a class in Quizlet with other people in your actual class. You can each add flashcards sets you’ve made for that subject to study.

TIP #3: Eat healthy and drink plenty of water. I know this can be difficult, but if you are going to be up late studying, you’ll need some energy to keep you awake. Junk food is just going to slow you down. This is also important the days you’re taking your tests so that you are concentrated.

TIP #4: Take study breaks! Try to give your mind a break every once in a while. I tried to take 15-20 minute breaks every 1-2 hours while studying. I spent my breaks going on Pinterest, Tumblr, or watching videos on YouTube. I also tried coloring in those adult coloring books and I highly recommend it!

TIP #5: Have something to look forward to after your tests. The day after finals was my friend’s birthday, so we went to the city to One World Trade (more about that later). During finals, I told myself that my reward was having fun in the city. It really helped me get though on the days where I really did not want to study.

I hope these tips helped!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

