Cowspiracy: My Review

untitled (4)

I have a challenge for y’all! I challenge those of you who are reading this to go and watch Cowspiracy. I just finished watching it and am deeply moved. Cowspiracy is a documentary which highlights how corrupt the meat and dairy industry is and the benefits of a plant-based, vegan lifestyle.

I learnt from a young age that in order to be a sustainable human being, I had to recycle, take short showers, carpool, etc. That is scratching the surface when it comes to helping the environment. The reality is that if I want to be a sustainable human, I have to become a vegan. The earth CANNOT continue to provide the amount of resources needed for animal agriculture, especially as the demand for animal products increases.

I know veganism might seem intimidating at first, as most people grow up consuming meat and dairy, but if you educate yourself about the lifestyle, you’ll see how amazing it is. I’m challenging you to think differently and really question what you’re supporting when you consume animal products. We are surrounded by propaganda telling us to eat meat and dairy products. This propaganda comes from an industry that is worth billions of dollars. Once you realize how much power the industry has over us, you begin to wonder what you’re supporting.

I’m gonna end with this quote from one of my favorite vegan activists, Gary Yourofsky- “Who taught me that animals were put on this Earth for food? Who taught me to disrespect animals and view them as mere commodities? Who stole my compassion, my empathy and my conscience? Who lied to me? Who instilled this vicious mindset of human-to-animal exploitation as standard operating procedure?”

xoxo

Leave a Reply

